In Which I Resist the Urge to Call

I miss you.

And you must miss me at least a little bit because we exchange more text messaging now than we ever did while we were in an actual relationship. (And YOU are the one who initiates contact with most of them. Has that irony occurred to you? )

And I know that if I invited you to come watch Pitch Perfect with me, you would.
If I show up on your doorstep and ask you to go for a walk with me, you would.

But I have to keep forcefully reminding myself that I don’t want to settle for your concession.
What I really want is someone who will show up on MY doorstep.

Who will put a letter in MY mailbox.

Who will  miss me more than I miss them.

And that is why I will not chase you even though I know that you are lonely enough that I could catch your company.
I want so much more than company.

About few shenanigans

Just a few shenanigans. Less than some. More than none. Just enough. View all posts by few shenanigans

Leave a comment